### MINUTES OF MEETING OF CANVASSING AUTHORITY AND BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

#### May 18, 2022

# THE STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF HARRIS HARRIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 11

The Canvassing Authority (the "Canvassing Authority") of the Board of Commissioners (the "Board") of Harris County Emergency Services District No. 11 (the "District") met in special session, open to the public, at the District's Administration Building, 18334 Stuebner Airline Road, Spring, Texas 77379, a meeting place inside the boundaries of the District, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022, at 9:00 a.m.; pursuant to notice of said meeting posted in accordance with Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code; whereupon the roll was called of the members of the Canvassing Authority of the Board, to-wit:

Karen Plummer	Presiding Officer
Steve Williams	Officer
Fred Grundmeyer	Officer
Robert Pinard	Officer
Kevin Brost	Officer

All members of the Canvassing Authority of the Board were present, except Officer Pinard, thus constituting a quorum for canvassing purposes. Also attending the meeting were: the following District employees: Mr. Douglas Hooten, Chief Executive Officer ("CEO"); Mr. Rob Farmer, Chief Administrative Officer ("CAO"); Mr. Jamie Chebra, Chief Operating Officer ("COO"); Mr. Dave Snavely, Chief Financial Officer ("CFO"); Ms. Shirley Ware, Executive Assistant; Ms. Katie Conn, Compliance Manager; and Mr. Jerry Thomas, Community Engagement Manager. District consultants in attendance were: Ms. Monica A. Garza, attorney, and Ms. Carla Christensen, paralegal, of Radcliffe Bobbitt Adams Polley PLLC ("RBAP"), general counsel for the District; and Mr. Grant McAnelley of 62 Digital, LLC ("62 Digital"), the District's communications coordinator. Also in attendance were numerous members of the public. A copy of the sign-in sheet is attached hereto.

WHEREUPON, the meeting was called to order by the Presiding Officer and evidence was presented that public notice of the meeting had been given in compliance with the law. The posted notices of the meeting are attached hereto.

#### **REVIEW OF RETURNS AND TALLY LIST**

Ms. Garza stated that the meeting was for the purpose of canvassing the May 7, 2022 Commissioners Election (the "Election") returns and declaring such returns to be official. Ms. Garza went on to explain that the Election was held for the purpose of electing two (2) Commissioners to the Board. Ms. Garza noted that there were 3,988 votes cast in the Election. Ms. Garza next circulated the Election returns, copies of which are attached hereto, and Presiding Officer Plummer then reported that the five (5) candidates for Commissioner received the following votes:

<u>Candidate</u>	Votes
Joel Ocasio	928
Kevin Brost	1,429
Christopher David	1,203
Dorothy Dalton	1,708
Zach Dunlap	1,513

Ms. Garza next explained that, based upon the Election returns and upon approval of the Order Canvassing Returns and Declaring Results of the Election ("Order Canvassing Election"), Commissioners-Elect Dorothy Dalton and Zach Dunlap should be deemed elected to the Board to serve four (4) year terms of office to expire in May 2026.

### ADOPT ORDER CANVASSING ELECTION

Ms. Garza then reviewed the Order Canvassing Election with the Canvassing Authority. Upon motion by Officer Williams, seconded by Officer Grundmeyer, after full discussion and the question being put to the Canvassing Authority, the Canvassing Authority voted unanimously to adopt the Order Canvassing Election, a copy of which is attached hereto, thereby declaring Ms. Dorothy Dalton and Mr. Zach Dunlap as duly-elected members of the Board.

# **ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION**

Presiding Officer Plummer then executed the Certificates of Election for Commissioners-Elect Dalton and Dunlap.

Ms. Garza noted that both Commissioners-Elect Dalton and Dunlap were unable to attend the meeting and therefore, would be sworn in at the Board meeting to be held on May 19, 2022 at 9:00 a.m.

Officer Brost entered the meeting at this time.

Presiding Officer Plummer then recognized Ms. Lin Fish, who thanked Officer Grundmeyer for his many years of service.

PASSED, APPROVED AND ADOPTED this 16<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2022.

Ben

Secretary, Board of Commissioners

